Plays by Young Writers

Sponsored by the Sheila and Jeffrey Lipinsky Family Fund

Our 32nd season of winning plays from the
2016 California Young Playwrights Contest

January 19 - 29, 2017
The Sheryl and Harvey White Theatre
in the Conrad Prebys Theatre Center at The Old Globe

Plays by Young Writers is produced by Playwrights Project in association with The Old Globe.

If you joined us for Plays by Young Writers, we want your feedback!

Click here to complete a brief survey about your experience.

Opening Night Photos

Courtesy of Geri Goodale of Reminisce Photography.

Playwrights Project board member Gene Summ with Joani Nelson.

Plays by Young Writers Executive Producer Cecelia Kouma with this year's Festival Artistic Director, Ruff Yeager.

Matthew Maceda, writer of The Dumping Ground with Emily Midgley, writer of last year's award winning production, The Acquittal with Cecelia Kouma

Staged Reading Turtle on a Rock writer Abby McDonald with her mother and brother.

Ashley Mendez, Ruff Yeager, and playwright Katie Taylor. Ruff served as the writing mentor for Katie's play, Pros and Cons.

Plays by Young Writers staged reading playwrights are recognized on stage. (From left to right: Abby McDonald, Ruff Yeager, Minh-Son Tran, Samantha Rafter, and Cecelia Kouma.)

Supermarket of Lost playwright Cassandra Hsiao joins her cast onstage for a bow.

A production still from The Dumping Ground by Matthew Maceda.

The cast of Pros and Cons with playwright Katie Taylor (center).

The cast of Hackathon at the post show reception with playwright Eliana Dunn (second from right).

Plays by Young Writers alumna Kirra McColl (center) and mother Anna (left) joined us for the evening and reunited with her former mentor, Aleta Barthell (right).

The Dumping Ground playwright Matthew Maceda with actor, Wilfred Paloma



Plays by Young Writers sponsored by the
Playwrights Project gratefully acknowledges major support for this program from:

Sheila and Jeffrey Lipinsky Family Fund

City of San Diego Commission for Arts & Culture
Mandell Weiss Charitable Trust

San Diego County Community Enhancement Program

District 4 (Ron Roberts) & District 3 (Dave Roberts)
Kinder Morgan Foundation

Additional support provided by:
Balboa Park Kiwanis Foundation
Community Service Association of San Diego Unified School District
Kiwanis Club of La Jolla
Kiwanis Club of Old San Diego

Script Readers & Final Judges
We also thank the many theatre professionals and judges who helped critique the plays in this year's contest.

Ed Delos Reyes
Playwrights Project Contest Coordinator

Monique Gaffney
Prominent local actor

Jennifer Thorn
Associate Artistic Director, MOXIE Theater

Danielle Ward
Literary Manager, San Diego REP

Ruff Yeager
Adjunct Instructor, Southwestern College
& Playwrights Project Festival Artistic Director